Words of wisdom echo from the past.

Do not pursue what is illusory-property and position: all that is gained at the expense of your nerves decade after decade, and is confiscated in one fell night.
Live with a steady superiority over life—-don’t be afraid of misfortune, and do not yearn after happiness; it is, after all, all the same: the bitter doesn’t last forever, and the sweet never fills the cup to overflowing. It is enough if you don’t freeze in the cold and if thirst and hunger don’t claw at your insides. If your back isn’t broken, if your feet can walk, if both arms can bend, if both eyes see,and if both ears hear, then whom should you envy? And why? Our envy of others devours us most of all. Rub your eyes and purify your heart-and prize above all else in the world those who love you and who wish you well. Do not hurt them or scold them, and never part from any of them in anger; after all, you simply do not know: it might be your last act before your arrest, and that will be how you are imprinted in their memory!

This excerpt above really struck me as the book Gulag Archipelago drew to a close.  The struggles endured by those who have preceded us in life have many many valuable lessons to teach.  The problems we see today often times are history repeating itself, mostly caused by our lack of humility to accept wise counsel from the leaders of the past.

Today the United states and Canada really are the wealthiest nations in the world.  Yet we seem to clamor for more and more.  Bill Lewis, in his recent blog article on Happ-I-ness speaks of the Lottery winner and the thought process that more money won or handed to the “winners” did not fix the persons problems.  I think Orrin Woodward said it best, “Your results will continue until your thinking changes.”  Thinking being the key phrase,  most people today allow the politicians and media or their bosses to do the thinking for them.  The American people need to wake up if we do not wake up and take back our country through building communities up we will all relive the pages of the Gulag Archipelago.

Thanks for reading

About Kevin Dunn

Walking through the pitfalls and snares we all endure in life. Raised in a small farming community in southern Michigan. As a young boy I was raised to be a man of hard work and character, something I ran from. Knowing that I would have to pay my own way through college, I decided to serve my country as a United States Marine. Making choices (most of them poor) based on my current information, led to me rebelling against the teachings of my youth. I resolve to be an example for my family and community. Through the mentoring, coaching, hard work and the help of team principles. Special thanks to my lovely wife Leah thank you for believing when the clouds on the horizon looked dark.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment