STRUGGLE

Why do we struggle?  For me I suppose it’s when I feel the most alive.  The day to day grind of home to work, can become a tiresome burden on all.   I have made a conscious choice to get better every day.  Thinking is the biggest piece of the pie. I like to compare thinking to Cream in milk,  What ever your mental cream is, positive or negative, sweet or sour will determine where you end up in the future.  Where are you going in life?  What are your biggest goals and dreams?  Will you let the Negators in life drag you down?  Are you willing to tackle head on your fears of failure?  They say failure is not fatal, my biggest fear was that I would fail which kept me in mediocrity.

It has been said, in our society today there are grown ups and given ups. We can view our struggles in life as a long chain of luck based events, or we can realize that all of those events are occurring because of choices we have made. All of us are haunted by the dumb things we’ve done in our life. Our mistakes, our failures, our painful moments, all replayed over and over again in vivid detail. So often we allow these to govern our actions and prevent us from achieving our goals and dreams.

The struggle for survival is evident in all of our natural lives. Being raised on a farm around animals struggle to survive is very clear when looked at from a life perspective. I’ve chosen ducks for this illustration as the importance of allowing the struggle to occur. If you assist a duckling emerging from the shell you shorten it’s life span. The duckling will most likely die because not being allowed to struggle weakens key functions in the animal itself.

Seeking out a mentor in life is much like the farmer. The farmer cares for the animals, however does not assist them in coming out of their shell. That struggle is left to the person, the mentor assists in the growth and care, the struggle itself is for each individual to experience. Success in any area of life comes through struggle. Persistence is critical. One of the greatest books I have read which teaches persistence is “The Greatest Salesman In The World” by Og Mandino specifically the scroll marked number 3.

I will persist until I succeed! Will you?

About Kevin Dunn

Walking through the pitfalls and snares we all endure in life. Raised in a small farming community in southern Michigan. As a young boy I was raised to be a man of hard work and character, something I ran from. Knowing that I would have to pay my own way through college, I decided to serve my country as a United States Marine. Making choices (most of them poor) based on my current information, led to me rebelling against the teachings of my youth. I resolve to be an example for my family and community. Through the mentoring, coaching, hard work and the help of team principles. Special thanks to my lovely wife Leah thank you for believing when the clouds on the horizon looked dark.
This entry was posted in Following, Freedom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

