Welcome to the Journey

Today, I spent in deep contemplation about the breakdown of the American family, and a government gone wild.  As I pondered these subjects of the lack of fathers in the home, and a government who does not follow the documents upon which it was founded upon.  Our government has convoluted the entire legal system into some what of a revolving door to take money from hard-working, God-fearing people.  Last time I checked it was innocent until proven guilty, not the other way around.  It seems however with even further government encroachments, assisting in the breakdown by taking away parents rights to discipline their children in the way in which the Bible commands we do.   Through the use of discipline in the form of corporal punishment balanced with kindness and love.

I have in my charge three daughters and one son,  whom God has given me as gifts.  We are a blended family with two of each of the children coming from previous marriages.  One of our girls who is now 4 years old is a headstrong choleric personality.  She often thinks she runs the show.  We punish her for disrespect and obstinate behavior,  most of the time we use time outs and naps.  This method is not always effective and corporal punishment is required.  Her biological father feels that I as her stepfather should not be allowed to correct and guide her behavior.  Fact is my roof my rules she is with us 80%  and him 20%.  I love all of the children as if they were my own and I would expect anyone in my community to inform us if our children were doing wrong, and provide proper discipline when needed at the time the incident happened (schools/step parents/pastors/friends parents).  It takes a community to raise a child,  not just the biological parents.

I was raised during the 1970’s when corporal punishment was still in our schools.  If that were still available today,  we would not see all of the crime committed by unguided youth.

Proverbs 13:24  He who spares his rod hates his child, but he who loves him disciplines him promptly.

Ephesians 6:4 And you, fathers, do not provoke your children to wrath, but bring them up in the training and admonition of the Lord.

Our prisons are overflowing today because of the lack of a father in the home that is there and functioning in that full capacity.   When will the Americans wake up and help preserve the freedoms that our forefathers fought and died to protect?

About Kevin Dunn

Walking through the pitfalls and snares we all endure in life. Raised in a small farming community in southern Michigan. As a young boy I was raised to be a man of hard work and character, something I ran from. Knowing that I would have to pay my own way through college, I decided to serve my country as a United States Marine. Making choices (most of them poor) based on my current information, led to me rebelling against the teachings of my youth. I resolve to be an example for my family and community. Through the mentoring, coaching, hard work and the help of team principles. Special thanks to my lovely wife Leah thank you for believing when the clouds on the horizon looked dark.
This entry was posted in Faith and Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

